God bless you, Tim Tebow

Though I did not watch any of the football game (Tennessee & Florida) today,   I happened to turn the TV on when a female reporter was doing a post-game interview with quarterback Tim Tebow.   Evidently Tim did not play as well as expected but Florida managed to win, and Tim was very gracious to praise the opposing team.

The last words from Tim to the reporter blew me away:  “God bless.”

I can’t remember an athlete ending an interview invoking God’s blessing, but  Tim has a special reason to invoke God.   In a story I heard Sen. Fred Thompson tell while he was campaigning in a church,  Tim’s mother was very ill when pregnant with Tim, and the doctor suggested aborting her baby for her own health’s sake.  But no, Tim’s mother refused.   And here we see a reason to be pro-life:  Heisman trophy winner and  wonderful young man, Tim Tebow.

Tags: , , , ,